Not a member yet? Why not Sign up today
Create an account  

• 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average

Let Me Implement A Keybinding UI

I think I've had From the Depths for about a year now, and logged a "mere" 12 hours on it in steam. Not because it's a bad game, mind... oh, no, because it's a GREAT game... with a terrible keybinding system. Every now and then I get a craving, play four 3-4 hours, and then give up.

I'm an ESDF player, you see (Go ahead and mock. One day you'll understand.. I'LL MAKE YOU ALL UNDERSTAND!), and while FTD allows for some rudimentary keybinding via Unity's built-in launcher, many of my go-to keys for movement or rotation are bound to keys which cannot be rebound. F is the most glaringly obvious in this case.

Now... I have a proposition for the developers. I am a retired Air Force vet with nothing to do with my spare time except tinker with games and code my own. I have extensive experience with Unity, especially it's UI systems.
Let me make a proper in-game keybinding GUI for From the Depths.
Seriously. For free. I have my own in-house keybindinder prefabs as it is. Give me an afternoon with your project files and I can make every input rebindable. Not because I want a job, or because I'm a nice guy, but because FTD is awesome and I am an old man who cannot wrap his head around WASD.

Or don't, and just keep making the game better. I'm not picky.

That would be great but it is very unlikely because Nick wants as few people working on code as possible AFAIK however his stance on that might have changed after Gladyon joined the team. I'd love to see it made in two fold way default key binds + per block key binds so I can have left propeller group under one key pair right propeller group on other key pair and be.able to throttle them together with third key pair or separately

A. Welcome to the forums m8!
B. try doing a mod or something that may be able to change it, but I don't think you can change UI via mods not sure though.