Not a member yet? Why not Sign up today
Create an account  

• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

small 4q LAMs ?

could some 1 give me an idea on making a small 4q system- 4x5x10, all the ones i've seen r bigger for multiple nodes, i m looking to set up 2 small units fore & aft with just 2 nodes each & the dimensions on my starter ship r constrained.
thanks, smokey66

I had the same space constraint issue, gave up trying to squeeze everything into the hull & ended up building an extended keel so I only needed two couplers per system - the lazer calc told me I only needed 2 pumps per cavity for a 2 node system at 260dmg per pulse, practical tests seem to bear that out ( quite hard to read the combiner tooltip, at 4Hz, mind ). I'm a complete lazer noob though.

(2016-12-16, 05:44 PM)copaceticsmokey Wrote: could some 1 give me an idea on making a small 4q system- 4x5x10, all the ones i've seen r bigger for multiple nodes, i m looking to set up 2 small units fore & aft with just 2 nodes each & the dimensions on my starter ship r constrained.
thanks, smokey66

what are you looking to kill with this system? something this small won't down masses of missiles but it can be built to competently deal with larger missiles, a small CRAM volley, or groups of smaller missiles. They get built slightly different though.
-Do not bring forth an argument as fact that can be disproven with a 10 minute Google search.

(2016-12-16, 07:22 PM)Lincrono Wrote:
(2016-12-16, 05:44 PM)copaceticsmokey Wrote: could some 1 give me an idea on making a small 4q system- 4x5x10, all the ones i've seen r bigger for multiple nodes, i m looking to set up 2 small units fore & aft with just 2 nodes each & the dimensions on my starter ship r constrained.
thanks, smokey66