Not a member yet? Why not Sign up today
Create an account  

• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Laser Missile Defense mechanics

Hello!

First time posting here.

I just got done with some research on the Laser Missile Defense mechanics and thought I'd share my findings. I appoligize if this is explained somewhere else or if this is the wrong section of the forum. Also, I'm new to the game, so please feel free to tell me if I've made any mistakes. Smile

Testing was done in alpha version 1.923

When you're building a Laser Missile Defense system you should always use 4 Q switches, but you only need 3 stabilisers and 2 doublers. I'll list the reasons below.

Regardless of the range listed when viewing the Multipurpose Laser block, the maximum range of the Laser Missile Defense is exactly (or atleast very close to) 500 meters (500 blocks). However, the range listed seems like it does matter, but in kind of a confusing way. With low range (below 500), your laser will fire, but when they hit a target beyond the listed range, they won't do any damage. Luckily, the range is dependent on the damage and with 120 damage or more, your range will be well over the range of the lasers, so it's nothing to worry about.

The accuracy of your lasers doesn't seem change regardless of what modules you're adding. However, they do become more accurate the closer a missile gets. Therefore, it seems like they don't have a % chance to hit, but rather rely on something like minute of angle, same as the cannons.